The Committee for Public Information in Finland 2021–2024


The Ministry of Education and Culture has assigned the Committee for Public Information (TJNK) for the next three-year office term. The Chair of the Committee is Professor Esa Väliverronen.

The Committee for Public Information consists of a chairman and of 10 members, who are assigned by the Ministry of Education for a three-year period after hearing essential associations.

The newly appointed Chair Esa Väliverronen is Professor of Media and Communication Studies at the University of Helsinki. He has also worked as a journalist for several newspapers and magazines.

Other members of the Committee:

  • Head of Science Communications, Markku Heikkilä, University of Lapland
  • Journalist Jakke Holvas, Yle
  • Professori Petri Karonen, University of Jyväskylä
  • Associate professor Anu Lahtinen, University of Helsinki
  • Research Professori Jaana Laitinen, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health
  • University Lecturer Anna Rastas, Tampere University
  • Head of communications Maria Lassila-Merisalo, Häme University of Applied Sciences
  • Director Leena Suurpää, Finnish Red Cross
  • Managing Director Liisa Suvikumpu, The Association of Finnish Foundations
  • Director, Library Services Pekka Uotila, Xamk – South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences

The Committee elects the Vice-President from among its members. Secretary General Reetta Kettunen serves as the secretary to the Committee.

More information: Secretary General Reetta Kettunen, tel. 040 733 5935

You might also be interested in